RSS

Shit Happens

18 Mar
Shit Happens - By ComfortablyNumb

Shit Happens – By ComfortablyNumb

The man I married was loving, sensitive and honest; He was funny, sentimental and he ‘got’ me…the man I married had me well and truly fooled.

It doesn’t matter how we met or where but I suppose I should say that our relationship spiralled rather quickly. We would talk openly and honestly about anything and everything for hours every day,  we were each others rocks, we trusted one another…which was a very hard thing for me to do and he knew that. One of the things we initially bonded over was honesty, neither of us saw the point of chatting shit and lying, we believed in truth, in trust and in loyalty. I believed I had found my soul mate, he was my best friend and he told me I was his. Within a year of meeting we were married.

I suppose this would be the perfect time for people to jump in and say ‘serves you right for getting married so fast’ and that’s probably true but it doesn’t change the fact that I am in love with him, I haven’t changed who I am and he would tell you himself that I have been true to my word from day one. I am the person he married, I am the person he met and pretended to fall in love with.

Up to the day he told me how he really felt – or didn’t feel- nothing really bad or significant to these revelations had happened. As far as I knew we were happy, we were content, of course we had our little niggles like every couple but none that were overbearing or dominating to our relationship. I had no clue that this bomb was about to be dropped…but now I’ve had time to digest it and think back things start to make sense…isn’t it annoying when that happens?

Regardless, there is nothing I could have done differently that would have changed the outcome, this admission would have had to come out eventually. I cant change that. All I can do is figure out how to deal with it. Shit happens…but flowers grow out of it.

xBx

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Shit Happens

  1. beetleypete

    March 18, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    I first got married in1977, and have married twice more since. It is not a perfect science, and doesn’t seem to matter if you marry after a few months, or wait many years. It either works, or it doesn’t. I still reflect on my own failures, and the broken promises of others, despite all the years that have passed. I expect that I will always continue to do so, as by this process, we become better people. Regards as always, Pete. X

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 18, 2013 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks Pete, I agree, it definitely makes us stronger people. The thing I’m struggling with is that there’s really nothin I could have done any better or different. It’s bittersweet being blameless because you have no way of improving in the future though at the same time it leaves you no regrets Bx

       
  2. crazybunny66

    March 19, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    I’m not going to say much as, quite frankly, I don’t know much about it,yet., other than noone deserves to go through what you are facing and I think it was very brave of your husband to come clean and even braver of you to try and work through together! xx

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 19, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      Thank you. It was brave of him, knowing how much I value trust and honesty it must have taken some balls to come clean. Better late than never I guess Bx

       
      • crazybunny66

        March 19, 2013 at 6:36 pm

        Don’t get me wrong please, I am by no means excusing his lying/pretending in the first place but at least now you’ve got an honest chance fo him to get better and to feel the love he no doubt must have for you! xx

         
      • Comfortably Numb

        March 19, 2013 at 6:56 pm

        Lol i know youre not excusing it, (and if you were I would apreciate the input anyway) in fact That’s my thinking/theory/one hope I’m clinging on to. He could have given up but he’s not and nor have I. Bx

         
      • crazybunny66

        March 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

        thumbs up 😉 x

         

Leave a Reply

 
wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My boyfriend may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Bizarre World News

Bizarre News From Around the World

Rome Construction Crew

Rome wasn't built in a day and not by one person

Emotional Affair? It Almost Destroyed My Marriage!

Emotional affairs; also called affairs of the heart. Let's define the severity of the term. It can destroy your marriage or relationship. What is it? There are a few words to describe it. Affair. Infidelity. Cheating. But the biggest word which sums it all up is....BETRAYAL!

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

