RSS

Creative Writing Challenge: 2am

19 Mar

It’s 2AM and your phone has just buzzed you awake, filling the room in white-blue LED light. You have a message. It’s a photo. No words, no explanation. Just a photo. Tell us all about it. And what happens next

I sleepily reached out to grab the phone, clinking the charm of my bracelet against a half empty glass of tepid water in the process.

A message From Zoë, my best friend in the world… At 2 am? I groan…before realising it is the early hours of Saturday now so she must be drunk – bitch, I can’t remember the last time I was drunk let alone out past 7:30 pm.

I slide the message icon to open it… An image titled “This better make you smile”

*DOWNLOADING*

I do smile wondering what this picture is, Zo knows I’ve had a harder time than usual lately and she’s the best person to make me laugh so instantly I’m optimistic

*OPEN*

It’s a photo of Zoë, eyes sparkling from too much alcohol, mouth open as if mid “eeehhh” and holding both thumbs up…and she’s posing with some guy… Who is that…? That looks like…

I inhale sharply and cover my mouth, blinking in disbelief as I try to make sense of what I’m seeing.
She’s only standing next to my celebrity obsession! My favourite member of a group, the guy I “wouldn’t do cause he’s got a girlfriend… I’d just hug him and maybe chain him in my cellar...” (joking on that last part but I really would love to hug him) AND he’s holding a handwritten sign which says:

“Smile Beth – I’d happily hug you… but no cellars 😉 xxx”

Wow! I’m gob smacked… HE has handwritten a message… for ME! And I cant believe she told him what I had said! But she was right, that really does make me smile, I’m Saving that bad boy as my home screen image.
I shake my head in disbelief as I compose my reply:

THAT’S why you’re my best friend xXx”

20130318-113523 PM.jpg

 
 

Tags:

17 responses to “Creative Writing Challenge: 2am

  1. beetleypete

    March 19, 2013 at 10:01 am

    Great stuff B. Tied in with current feelings and recent events perfectly. Back to the Blog full on luv! XX

     
  2. crazybunny66

    March 19, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    nice one, I´m kind of hoping that Zoe isn´t a fraction of your imagination but a real best pal for you 😉

     
  3. Nevaldo Shepherd

    March 19, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    After that, I know you went back to bed on cloud 9 🙂

     
  4. greenembers

    March 20, 2013 at 12:06 am

    Hahaha, love the image of you keeping a celebrity in a cellar. 🙂 I smiled just from reading the story. 🙂

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 20, 2013 at 12:15 am

      Oh my god I SO would… Hug him I mean… Of course that’s what I mean… 😉

       
  5. Catmandue

    March 26, 2013 at 6:17 am

    Ah… nice post! We should all be so lucky as to have a friend like Zoë!

    I envy you, just a little bit, that you know such a caring person.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 26, 2013 at 11:40 am

      ha ha thank you -though you realise that was for the writing challenge and didnt actually happen? There is no doubt in my mind that she would do that for me though so yes, thank god for friends like her 🙂

       
      • Catmandue

        March 26, 2013 at 4:57 pm

        Oh my goodness… Right after I started reading you post I forgot that the writing challenge was fictional! Duh me 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My boyfriend may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Bizarre World News

Bizarre News From Around the World

Rome Construction Crew

Rome wasn't built in a day and not by one person

Emotional Affair? It Almost Destroyed My Marriage!

Emotional affairs; also called affairs of the heart. Let's define the severity of the term. It can destroy your marriage or relationship. What is it? There are a few words to describe it. Affair. Infidelity. Cheating. But the biggest word which sums it all up is....BETRAYAL!

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

