RSS

Weekly writing challenge: GPS for kids

26 Mar
Sawyer

Sawyer (Photo credit: fraencko)

I’m not great at political debates, I don’t like confrontation and I will often shy away from heated conversations for fear of looking unintelligent due to not knowing all the facts…or not understanding the big words or simply from bursting out crying stumbling under pressure. However, I do have opinions, I have things which I feel strongly enough about to argue my point – for example the fact that I would be team zombie (if given a choice) or that Sawyer from Lost *rubs thighs* was WAY better than Jack. Its my opinion, I’m sticking with it so deal with it. However, I am also inquisitive -possibly a little naïve- but I like to ask questions, to try to understand things which puzzle me…I’m curious to hear the other side of an argument. So for this weeks writing challenge I’m going for gold…

One topic (which is a little more pressing than that of Lost characters or zombies) that I genuinely don’t understand the ‘against’ argument for is GPS tracking for kids. With all the kids that get abducted or go missing why is there such a negative response to the idea of it?…Honestly…serious question…I really want to know the answer.

Just Imagine a chip implanted at birth which could allow you to pinpoint the exact location of that child should they go missing…what’s wrong with that? Now imagine it could have medical info programmed in such as blood type etc too, meaning that in case of emergency it could be scanned and all the medical information retrieved…that bad boy could save some time and some lives. Of course these chips would need a source of power but lets pretend that wasn’t an issue for a second, ignoring the practical or technological limits… Would you do it then?

Big Brother 2007 (UK)

Big Brother 2007 (UK) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I find it hard to believe that people would value their privacy over safety. I hear arguments about the world being watched, all this ‘big brother’ talk but to be honest I like that programme 😉 (I hope you sense my sarcasm) its one of the best (trashiest) ways to spend an otherwise boring night in…the difference being that those cameras are in a house. They really are invading privacy and doesn’t it make good entertainment? With the unbelievable amount of surveillance cameras in Britain, people are still managing to fall off the radar, Children are still going missing because these cameras are in public places, they aren’t focused on our own front gardens and consequently children are still being taken from them…so wouldn’t a GPS chip in a child act as a failsafe?

I can understand the worry of these microchips resulting in the relaxing parental obligations, setting up a world of lazy parenting or a device which could replace common sense and good parenting; some people simply shouldn’t be allowed to breed…but they do… so GPS tracking would protect the children to an extent in cases where the level of good parenting is lower than normal. I mean there’s a difference between letting your pre teen kids walk the short trip to school with their friends and expecting them to make it there safely; but leaving your young child in a hotel room whilst you fuck off partying…(I mean really? ) don’t get me started on that- But even ignoring the dimwits, what you think to be the safest environments, i.e. your own front garden, are no longer secure. Its not safe to let your kids ride their bikes around the block, sad but true. Times have changed so why don’t we change with them accordingly?

We chip out pets in case they get lost… Why not do the same for our children? Maybe the chip expires at 18 or even better they could have it deactivated if they wish… I know I’m not alone in saying that I wouldn’t mind being tracked if needed. Id like to know that if I drove my car off a cliff someone would be able to find me…or If I lost my memory i’d like to be returned home….speaking of which, while we are at it why not chip grannie? She’s old and frail, she gets lost and confused…GPS could have her returned home safely within the hour.

Broken iPhone

Broken iPhone (Photo credit: Scott Dierdorf)

I realise that there are a number of devices you can buy, technology which allows you to track your children (or to catch straying spouses I’m sure) some even send a text to your phone should that child cross a pre-set perimeter; others let you dial into the device and listen to its surroundings; however have you ever let a toddler play with your phone? You’ve seen how quickly it gets licked and covered in chocolate…imagine setting them loose with it in the garden…it would be buried or thrown in the pond within minutes. (not advising you to allow a toddler to play unsupervised near water but hopefully you get my point) Now think of a rebelling teen…that ’f*ckin babysitter my mum makes me carry’ would get smashed up or left in the back of their friends car…or simply turned off in some cases.

Perhaps the idea of chipping or tracking kids is enabling overprotective parenting but what if the chip lay dormant until needed? What if only the police could access the information? That would allow parents of runaways to at least know (via police or a specific service) that their child was alive, even if they didn’t want to come home. It takes away the worry of child safety against their own abusive parents, it removes the fear of stalkers gaining access to their trackers…doesn’t it?

Chipping them would surely act as a deterrent? Perhaps the idea of a chip being cut out scares people off the idea of implanting them in their children -or elderly relatives in the first place? How about if an alarm was sounded and the police notified at the first sign of tampering? Would that convince you?

Grannie

Grannie (Photo credit: Mish Mish)

So many people are for freedom and privacy but if their kids were missing I’m sure they would change their minds. Chip kids, chip grandma, chip criminals…chip everyone. I honestly don’t understand the argument against it -and I honestly cant wait to read the responses. Our bank cards track us anyway, security cameras are everywhere, we have GPS in our cars; I can find my phone if I lose it thanks to this technology…Even Facebook knows where I am when I update a status… so why not?

Aaaannnnnd Discuss
xB

 
 

Tags:

21 responses to “Weekly writing challenge: GPS for kids

  1. greenembers

    March 26, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I uh agree with you. Sorry, not much of a discussion, lol.

     
  2. beetleypete

    March 26, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. Despite the ‘Nanny State’, the thought of implanting devices in people still remains abhorrent. It is all a bit ‘Logan’s Run’. Well, not for me. As my old Mum used to say, the only people against anything like CCTV, or being able to be located, are those with something to hide, or criminals. In many ways, I am with her. I think that it would soon be ‘hacked’ though. There seems nothing, not even NASA, The CIA, Or MI5, that is immune from a good hacker. However, make it voluntary, and that is another ball game. Once 18,(or maybe even 16?) the child could decide to have the device removed, if they so wished. It would be great for Diabetics, Epileptics, those with Alzheimer’s, and even mountaineers, and potholers; indeed,
    anyone who might collapse unconscious, or get lost somewhere. Criminals could be compulsorily chipped, and that way, we could save on Tagging, and even open prisons.
    Mind you, I reckon I would opt out, on the grounds that knowing my location would just be too dull! Well done B, good piece. As ever, Pete. X

     
    • beetleypete

      March 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm

      By the way, where did you get that photo of me, sitting in my folding chair? ( X)

       
      • Comfortably Numb

        March 26, 2013 at 5:02 pm

        Ha ha I just looked you up on the GPS 😉 x

         
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 26, 2013 at 5:01 pm

      Thanks Pete, yeah I don’t think they’d be too interested to track my life at the moment either lol but you never know, I may get stranded on an island one day and need saving… Though by then maybe i wouldn’t want saving… Damn why did I opt to keep my chip? Lol xB

       
  3. Doggy's Style

    March 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    I’ve always wondered why they don’t do that.
    Doggy has a chip, it’s easy to identify him, however, that doesn’t help me track him, a tracking decide would be great, however. I know I’m comparing my dog to a kid but I don’t mean it in a bad way.
    Tag kids but untag them once they are 15, we don’t know our parents to know where we are when we tell them we are studying.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 26, 2013 at 5:07 pm

      I compared the two too so I get what you mean completely xB

       
  4. belovedahava

    March 26, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    Where do you draw the line though? I mean, I’m not doing anything wrong, but, it still bugs me that technically the government decided they are allowed to listen in on my private phone calls, for my own good. Hypothetically, now the police can use it, how long until the chip can record every thing spoken? Now your kid can be taken away because you yelled at them. My ex would LOVE to be able to have my kid “scanned” and all info reported every time he makes a false call to CPS. (We’re at 3 now.) I know it seems far fetched, but, so did eavesdropping and drones at one time.
    And, let’s say your kid is kidnapped, the kidnapper wants to keep them prisoner. Now, you do eventually find your kid, maybe. Missing a hand, where the kidnapper cut it off to avoid detection. Or, the bad guy wants to molest your kid, that can happen pretty easily, before you even know the kid is missing.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 26, 2013 at 11:51 pm

      Good points! Definitely food for thought , I’ll have to have a think on that when I’m more awake. Thank you for commenting 🙂

       
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 27, 2013 at 1:07 pm

      Re-reading this comment you really do raise some great points and concerns.

      say the voice recording existed, yes kids could get taken away but surely that wouldnt happen due to a one off argument? and remember your ex would also be recorded so unless hes squeaky clean i dont think you would have much to worry about. flipping it again, wouldnt the voice recording aid kids who ARE abused at home? who ARE beaten daily or just ill treated regularly? again it would protect the kids…get them taken away but they would be safer, they would need to be put somewhere safe.

      The idea of voice recording is worthy of another post entirely lol, i can understand the bad points of that but it would also be fascinating. theres a film (im kicking myself for forgetting the name of it but i think its got robin williams in it) where peoples memories are recorded throughout their lives (sound and image) and once they die williams takes out their chip and edits their memories to make a final film to show at their funeral. i would LOVE that. it shows his struggle in the position of seeing the true side of the people that others think to be good and ‘nice’ as cheating, abusive etc

      back on point, i dont have much of a valid response to the last part of your comment because they really are good points, thank you again

       
  5. CodeForConfession [Kristen]

    March 27, 2013 at 2:45 am

    Interesting topic! While the concept is ideal there are people out there who would eventually figure out how to hack into the system and find anyone, anywhere. The only example of something like this being done is in the ‘Hunger Games’ where the government implants these locator chips at birth to keep track of the children and the fear is instilled that if they run away they could be blown up. (I’m going based off my sister’s words as she actually read the book.)

    So in short, I do like the idea and wouldn’t mind it on myself but only if the access was ABSOLUTELY secure and never used unless needed. It would be putting a lot of trust in the professionals and government which is asking quite a bit.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 27, 2013 at 12:50 pm

      thank you for commenting, its good to hear other thoughts on it.
      I agree, there would need to be a hell of a lot of security involved..a few tweaks and yes trusting the proffessionals would be a must.

      I havent read/seen the hunger games, maybe i should check it out 🙂

       
      • CodeForConfession [Kristen]

        March 27, 2013 at 8:25 pm

        The first book was made into a movie and the second one will be coming out this year some time. I will get to fading them eventually (I even own them) but I’m too busy with school and work.

         
  6. Rotten Ray

    March 27, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Insane idea, hut understandable from a paranoid view. If you could track a kid with an embedded chip, then so could anyone else. Would you also implant a chip into yourself, or just the kids? Do you want someone tracking you 24 hours a day/7 days a week/365 days a year? There is too much “watching over us” now for the sake of security and safety.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      March 27, 2013 at 12:44 pm

      Thanks for the comment.
      Honestly i wouldnt mind being tracked 24/7 – i dont do anything too interesting anyway lol. but imagine it lay dormant until needed and only activated or tracked by police etc if i went missing, if i was murdered and buried in a forest somewhere im sure my family would rather be able to have my remains at least to know for sure what had happened to me. grim i know but think of the families of missing kids/people, they go on for years not knowing, not being able so say goodbye or get any kind of closure.

      can you please explain to me why you are against being ‘watched over’? not for the sake of an argument but because i genuinely dont understand peoples objections -perhaps knowing all the info i could change my mind on it and finally understand what the issue is.

       
      • Rotten Ray

        March 27, 2013 at 6:27 pm

        No one needs to know what I do or where I go, although it is near impossible to avoid cameras and tracking. The problem is not the technology, but governments and corporations that believe they own you. And they do. They probably know more about you than you do. Sacrificing freedom and independence for security is not a good thing.

         
      • Comfortably Numb

        March 27, 2013 at 11:35 pm

        good response, -and no comeback from me, thank you

         

Leave a Reply

 
wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My boyfriend may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Bizarre World News

Bizarre News From Around the World

Rome Construction Crew

Rome wasn't built in a day and not by one person

Emotional Affair? It Almost Destroyed My Marriage!

Emotional affairs; also called affairs of the heart. Let's define the severity of the term. It can destroy your marriage or relationship. What is it? There are a few words to describe it. Affair. Infidelity. Cheating. But the biggest word which sums it all up is....BETRAYAL!

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

