RSS

Weekly Writing Challenge: Iconic: Love the carrot

03 Apr
I got the carrots but no cake

I got the carrots but no cake (Photo credit: …-Wink-…)

I dont know if what I am about to divulge would be classed as ‘iconic’, but for me and my friends -on a personal level im saying it does for the sake of this weeks writing challenge. <– click there for details. I consider something to be iconic when people associate something to someone regularly…to the point where if they died that object, style or whatever could even be considered for use on, in or in place of their headstone. So, with that considered, if i died tomorrow…what hilarious shape would my headstone be? You’re about to find out…

A few years back I visited a hypnotherapist in an attempt to overcome a few deep rooted trust issues – anyone who follows my blog will see the irony in that! On one of my first sessions he urged me to think of a happy place, either an actual place, an object or a time when I felt truly happy. At the time I struggled with it and I left the session feeling disappointed but determined to find my happy place.

That year one of my meat loving (oi oi) best friends turned vegetarian. For her birthday we took the piss – getting her a carrot cake, a banana shaped bag and a variety of raw (phallic shaped) vegetables. Of course drinking entailed and the night blurred into a haze of veggie jokes, innuendos and suggestions for their alternate uses. The morning after, all had left and my boyfriend at the time came over. He was jealous of the relationship between my friend and I and would often make “jokey” comments about me and her being “together” … And then he discovered the carrot.

Love the carrot -Comfortably Numb

Love the carrot -Comfortably Numb

It had been forgotten by the birthday girl, discarded beneath my sofa and – although it was less than 24 hours later- had shrivelled in the august heat and started turning a nice shade of brown. He carefully picked it up, raised an eyebrow and said (deadly serious with a tone of sheer disgust and surprise) “what have you been doing with this???”

This question was met by instant laughs from me as I simultaneously remembered the night before and realised what his tone was implying…added to the rank appearance of an otherwise innocent carrot. My laughing didn’t help matters, nor did his discovery of 2 sets of greasy adult sized hand prints in -what looked like- a very compromising position on the glass doors leading to the garden – all that did was spur on his theory…and of course make me laugh even more.My friends thought it was hilarious and thus ‘the carrot’ became my happy place.

I used it (the thought not the actual carrot) in my following sessions and I believe the therapy worked – or at least helped and the carrot lives on in that aspect too.

It became Iconic amongst my friends and I, symbolic of our friendship and their amazing support for me through a really tough time; it represented the progress I had made personally and of the happy times. My friends would -and still do- associate carrots with me; they would present me with carrot shaped or themed items every now and then as they knew they would make me smile, they would doodle them in my happy book, tag me in Facebook photos of carrots…just to give me a boost when needed. One even wrote ‘love the carrot’ on my mirror so I would see it every day and be reminded…like a mantra.

It stuck with me and -although for a while it was hibernating- lately I have needed it more than ever; true to form the carrot has stood the test of time.

My happy place….

‘Love the carrot’

xBx

 
 

Tags:

13 responses to “Weekly Writing Challenge: Iconic: Love the carrot

  1. beetleypete

    April 3, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Deep rooted! I got it…Nice post B. As ever, Pete. X

     
  2. Donna

    April 3, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    A carrot will never be simply a vegetable for me anymore…love your post!

     
  3. TemptingSweets99

    April 3, 2013 at 11:19 pm

    Wonderful story. Love the carrot! Love it! 😉

     
  4. ladyhawk87

    April 5, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    hehehehe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My boyfriend may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Bizarre World News

Bizarre News From Around the World

Rome Construction Crew

Rome wasn't built in a day and not by one person

Emotional Affair? It Almost Destroyed My Marriage!

Emotional affairs; also called affairs of the heart. Let's define the severity of the term. It can destroy your marriage or relationship. What is it? There are a few words to describe it. Affair. Infidelity. Cheating. But the biggest word which sums it all up is....BETRAYAL!

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

