RSS

Starting the ball rolling

07 May
Get the ball rolling

Get the ball rolling (Photo credit: temporalata)

I know what this “thing” is, I don’t know ALL details or the extent of the link between it and whatever happens in the bedroom….and I’m not sure I want to know … But I know I need to in order to understand it… And he definitely needs to talk to his therapist about it in order to do that. What I do understand is why he’s taken so long to come out with it… :/

He came home from his therapist appointment and I asked how it went.
He started telling his therapist everything and she stopped him and asked if he was comfortable telling her. He said no so she said she doesn’t want him to tell her until he’s comfortable (I believe this by the way, if he was going to lie about it he would have just said that he had told her… He knows I’m meeting with her soon anyway so lying would be pointless) they then went on to discuss his reasons why he’s not comfortable.

He said he doesn’t want telling anyone to take away or add from it. I asked him to clarify what he meant… Was the “it” the thoughts he had or…? He said no he was worried about our reactions and that it would change our opinions of him. I asked why he would care what we thought and he told me that he cared because its not nice stuff…it could then change his views on himself… His self worth… Which is already lower than low.

I asked what he thought would make him more comfortable… What would make him talk about it…? He said he doesn’t know and that that’s what they are working on in sessions from now on. She is also sending me an email with a link to an article about “people like him” so once I have that I’ll share it with you.

Apparently she asked him to list 3 positives about himself and he struggled so he told her that I had been asking him for a positive, genuine, good happy thing every other day…like I’ve written about here (he’s still been doing them btw I just haven’t blogged all of them) She said I was smart (yay me) and wants me to up it to three times a day. – challenge accepted.

I don’t know whether she wants me to ask him good things about himself or keep it as it is (and he wasn’t sure either) so I’ve contacted her to clarify – whether she’s allowed to or not I don’t know (probably not) so if that’s the case I’ll get him to call and ask himself.

So I suppose the main thing is that she now knows that there is a lot more to come, he’s admitted that much and started the ball rolling. Its frustrating as hell but…I get it.

xBx

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Starting the ball rolling

  1. WyndyDee

    May 7, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    Don’t despise small beginnings, for it’s not how you start but how you finish.

     
  2. behindthemaskofabuse

    May 7, 2013 at 7:26 pm

    It sounds like good news 🙂

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      May 7, 2013 at 8:08 pm

      Its a(nother) good start I suppose. I know its good, I knew it wouldnt be that simple and it would take a while but that doesnt mean I didnt hope it would magically change – regardless…yes…its good 🙂 xB

       
  3. beetleypete

    May 7, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    I will not be down any more. When I read something positive, I have resolved to be positive back. So. Well done, and let’s hope good things continue. As ever, Pete. X

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      May 8, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      I’m not ignoring your past comments btw Pete, I keep attempting to reply to all but I’m working my way backwards and then have to start all over again lol. Thank you, I value your thoughts (as always 😉 ) xB

       
  4. beetleypete

    May 7, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Oh, and I forgot to ask. These migraines, are they related, or were they always a feature? X

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      May 8, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      Ive always had them, usually hormone/stress/weather related. I did figure out a way to stop them when i felt them coming on but since moving my usual cures arent so easily available so recently ive just been riding them out :/ not fun xB

       
  5. Mocha

    May 7, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    The ball is rolling in the right direction…

     
  6. Kira

    May 8, 2013 at 12:02 am

    a ball rolling is always a good thing! I think this is promising B. You are my “shero!” you are so amazing in how you deal with every ball thrown your way! xoxo

     

Leave a Reply

 
wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My boyfriend may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Bizarre World News

Bizarre News From Around the World

Rome Construction Crew

Rome wasn't built in a day and not by one person

Emotional Affair? It Almost Destroyed My Marriage!

Emotional affairs; also called affairs of the heart. Let's define the severity of the term. It can destroy your marriage or relationship. What is it? There are a few words to describe it. Affair. Infidelity. Cheating. But the biggest word which sums it all up is....BETRAYAL!

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

