RSS

Angel Cakes & Devil Dogs

15 May

I’m not sure whether the idea of ‘duets’ (Writing a poem WITH another blogger) was one of HastyWords‘ babies or whether its a general blogging thing but regardless, after our duet (here) last week I feel I ought to thank her for introducing me to the world of duet-ing (is that a word?) So thanks hun 😉
It inspired me to get poetic with another blogger…Charles from Legends of Windemere http://legendsofwindemere.com/2013/05/14/poem-duet-angel-cakes-devil-dogs/ So here goes….

Angel V Devil

Angel V Devil

Angel Cakes & Devil Dogs

Don’t you want it?
Aren’t you tempted?
I’ll help you decide
Just a little
Don’t resist it
I’ll be by your side
 
Do you trust me?
Then ignore her
I know what you need
And it isn’t that
Put faith in my words
I’ll never leave your side
 
Did you hear him?
He wants to trick you
You don’t need that kind of friend
Stick with me
Let’s have some fun
He’ll leave you in the end
 
She’s talking about herself
You know her type
Don’t fall for her lies again
She will lead you to fun
Then abandon you in need
Without bail money
 
Ha! Common sense?
Its a given right
To enjoy the path you choose
Take the risk
Just once wont hurt
Its win/win -you cant lose
 
Maybe you’ve forgotten
You promised you would stop
This is a path you left
Proud to cast it to your past
I insist that you tell her to shut up
Before you fall back down
 
You let him talk to you like that?
Sounds desperate
Stick with me
I’m more relaxed
No pressure here
What will be will be
 
Don’t come bitchin’ to me
When your belt explodes
And your gut blocks your toes
I’m sure your wife will be fine
It’s only a broken promise
And a decimated diet

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2013 in Poetry

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Angel Cakes & Devil Dogs

  1. beetleypete

    May 15, 2013 at 11:43 am

    I am not 100% sure about poetry duets as a concept. It seems to have worked here though…
    As ever, Pete. X

     
  2. Charles Yallowitz

    May 15, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    I think it’s a fun challenge because you have to work off someone else.

     
  3. writingthebody

    May 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    Your blog seems to be growing in many different directions! keep on travelling these roads! I think our minds do have voices like that….from two sides.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      May 15, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      I agree 🙂 hope anyone reading it doesn’t get too lost though xB

       
  4. Doggy's Style

    May 15, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    Writing a poem is already a challenge for me, I know I’m the best poet ever, but a challenge nonetheless. Writing a poem with someone else is something I wouldn’t do, mainly because I’d frustrate the other person.
    For you it worked like magic.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      May 16, 2013 at 2:54 pm

      Thanking you 🙂 I like to have control over my own posts too…but writing with Charles was fun -and allowed me to loosen up a little….Still I think the angel vs Devil idea was flexible enough for me to stick to my guns to an extent 😉

       
  5. smilesinthesky

    May 16, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Thanks for the shout out! I’ve never heard of duet-ing. Sounds cool.

    Best wishes,

    -M.M.

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      May 16, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      Youre welcome 🙂 I had never heard of that either until another blogger approached me to do one with her xB

       

Leave a Reply

 
wePoets Show It

an interactive community that showcases art in all forms

Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My boyfriend may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

The Community Storyboard

Where creativity meets community

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Bizarre World News

Bizarre News From Around the World

Rome Construction Crew

Rome wasn't built in a day and not by one person

Emotional Affair? It Almost Destroyed My Marriage!

Emotional affairs; also called affairs of the heart. Let's define the severity of the term. It can destroy your marriage or relationship. What is it? There are a few words to describe it. Affair. Infidelity. Cheating. But the biggest word which sums it all up is....BETRAYAL!

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

