RSS

Making memories of me

01 Oct

As you may know, my memories are very important to me. I love photos, I love looking back on my past and I love my lists lol. I have my happy book to document the things that make me smile and I have a bucket list of things to tick off as I go.

Working in the job and being married to my husband has taught me to never let anything hold me back. To enjoy life, to experience it… Because I can… And because I deserve to.

With our move growing ever closer I’m getting sentimental, thinking of the times I’ve had… With the people I’ve met… In the places I’ve been…

So it seems quite fitting to add to my bucket list… But I need your help.

I’m not talking about lavish, expensive things… More the simple things like enjoying cadburys chocolate before giving into the world of Hershey’s *shudder* or milking a cow … Because why wouldn’t you when your best friend lives on a farm?? Or screw the weather lets go punting in cambridge… Because it’s almost local so why not? Of course I have Madame Tussaud’s (the waxworks) on mine because let’s face it it’s the only way I’m going to meet my boyband crush before I go so it kills 2 birds with one stone… But what would you do?

I have 2 months left in England… Brits…what would you suggest I do?
The rest of the world… What would you want to do if you visited England?

Likewise I’m going to be limited to (probably) one year in North Carolina before moving to the next place so Non Americans…. What would be the little things you would want to experience/taste/see that we can’t do here? Or the bigger things you would love to do if you had the chance to go? And Americans… What would you suggest? I’ve heard about “trees” … Everyone keeps gasping about how beautiful the trees are…. I’m lost lol. So what is there around NC – or in America in General- to look out for and experience?

I WILL be taking up blogging again once things are more settled – hopefully by then I will have some bucket list “ticks” to share with you 🙂

So… If you don’t mind… I would love to have a few ideas (the more the better) from each of you of things to do on each side of the pond.

xBx

20131002-121734 am.jpg

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Making memories of me

  1. beetleypete

    October 1, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Nice to see you back…
    As a Londoner, of course I would say…Tower Bridge, lit at night, that wonderful edifice. And the view from Waterloo Bridge at dusk, London from the River. Doubt there is anything like that in North Carolina. (Give Tussaud’s a miss. Not worth it)
    In America? i have never been. I would like to see Charleston, but that is in South Carolina. Maybe the heyday of the Confederacy, Plantation Houses, large wraparound porches, lush vegetation, we don’t have that here.
    English seaside. It’s different over there. Somewhere kitsch and quaint. Buckets and spades, shellfish, shelters from the wind.
    Lap it up B, but don’t despair. You are young enough to come back, and see it all again one day.
    As ever. Pete. XX

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      October 2, 2013 at 9:56 am

      Thanks Pete, you’re right I’ll have chances to come back again 🙂 once there, coming back to meet you for coffee will be on the return list lol x

       
      • beetleypete

        October 2, 2013 at 9:17 pm

        It was already on mine…XX

         
  2. wepoetsshowit

    October 2, 2013 at 12:54 am

    I’m from Canada but the Biltmore House in North Carolina is something to see!

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      October 2, 2013 at 9:57 am

      I’ve heard that too so it’s going on the list 🙂 thanks

       
      • wepoetsshowit

        October 2, 2013 at 10:43 pm

        You’re welcome! I wish I could go back and see the whole thing!

         
  3. wepoetsshowit

    October 2, 2013 at 12:54 am

    (This is Zoe btw )

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      October 2, 2013 at 9:57 am

      Lol hi Zoe 🙂

       
      • wepoetsshowit

        October 2, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        Hey welcome!! Thank you for joining us here too!! I realized after I left a response I was still using my wePoets gravatar…oops! lol

         
  4. Drops of Ink

    October 2, 2013 at 1:10 am

    I’m not real good in the ideas department today, but it’s great to see you. 🙂

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      October 2, 2013 at 9:57 am

      You too 🙂 nice avatar

       
      • Drops of Ink

        October 2, 2013 at 9:11 pm

        Thank you. I like yours too. 🙂

         
  5. ioniamartin

    October 2, 2013 at 2:24 am

    If i were to go back to England I would first take in a lungfull of the London particular. Nothing like that dense fog to get the days started right before hunting down a pub. 🙂

     
    • Comfortably Numb

      October 2, 2013 at 9:58 am

      Ha ha London scares me – which is I think why I haven’t been to Madame Tussaud’s yet – but we have to go there in the next few weeks for legal rubbish anyway so may as we’ll make a day of it 🙂

       
  6. Donna Gwinnell Weidner

    October 3, 2013 at 2:08 am

    I love wax museums…where else can you take a picture with Bond, James Bond…or Dracula? As for NC…Ashville. Washington DC is nearby with the Smithsonian…in the US…OMG, the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, New York, San Francisco, California in general, the Rocky Mtns, and, and, and…Safe Travels and have fun!

     
  7. beetleypete

    October 3, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    I looked up that Biltmore House, it’s like a French Chateau, very imposing! As for London Fog, I haven’t seen any since the late 1960’s, and I lived in the centre. Don’t be scared of the capital B, it is easier to manage than you might think. Tips available from me by e mail!
    As ever, Pete. XX

     

Leave a comment

 
Rambles, writing and amusing musings

Smile! laugh out loud! enjoy the following

Radiant Hope

Those who Hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar like wings on eagles, they will run and not grow weary.

I'M A HAUTE MESS

If you're a mess, at least be haute.

The MisAdventures of Vanilla

Mom, Activist, and Stripper

omg he said what?

My husband (surprise!) may be an idiot, but I love him anyway

Michael Bradley - Time Traveler

The official website of Michael Bradley - Author of novels, short stories and poetry involving the past, future, and what may have been.

Wobble a Jelly

Start the movement

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

georgeforfun

Welcome to George's world, no invitation needed, feel at home

The Girl with Twine in Her Bag

My six-word memoir: Can it be four?

Dehypnotize

The Key To Effective Communicating

Therapy nut loops.

In the client's chair

The Neophyte Therapist

Let's talk about feelings, shall we?

bravolionlady's Blog

Overcoming Co-Dependency 1 step at a time

Freshly Pressed: Editors' Picks

Great reads from across WordPress.com, updated daily.